A group of 16 PROBUS history buffs enjoyed a fun and informative tour at the Niagara Falls History Museum. We were very pleased to have the museum’s curator Suzanne as our guide. She gave an interesting talk about how tourism began in Niagara Falls. She showed us many artifacts, including officer uniforms from the war of 1812 along with stories of soldiers and children who served in the war. We learned about Charles Blondin – the first tight-rope walker to walk across the Falls, and all his crazy stunts to attract attention on the tight-rope. Lastly, we visited the Repository (”the vault”) in the basement. Many historical paintings, artifacts and books are kept here under special climate-controlled conditions in order to keep the items preserved. Several of us were keen to go back for a second visit at the main museum, to nose around on our own.
This museum is one of 3 in Niagara Falls. This location will have an addition at the back of the building, “The Exchange”, due to open this summer. The Exchange will house a newly-designed farmers’ market and areas for workshops such as wood working. This development will also become a vibrant centre of activity in the community by providing shared spaces where artists, musicians, food vendors and patrons, and local businesses can come together and create.
Lunch afterward at Chuck’s Roadhouse on Ferry Street was really good and our server was excellent. We pre-ordered lunch for our group and this made the waiting time for our meals very short. As usual, our group was lively and happy to be together.